Our Future Advisory Board

Our Future's advisory board is an important part of supporting participating youth.

Gustavo Balderas

Superintendent, 4J School District. Life long educator with K-12 experience.

  • Email: balderas_g@4J.lane.edu

BJ Blake

Director of Secondary Education, 4J School District. Working in schools for 29 years. Principal at a Green Middle and High school

  • Email: blake@4J.lane.edu

Kemy Joseph

Executive Director, U R Awesome Inc. 8 years and education. Skills: strategic planning, group facilitation, leadership development

  • Email: Kemy.Joseph@URAwesome.org

Cheryl Lohrmann-Riggs

High School Environmental Leadership Project (HELP), Portland Public Schools Climate Justice Committee. Organizing experience with high schoolers and education staff. Contacts with K-12 teachers eager to be part of this work in the Portland area.

  • Email: cheryl@createplenty.org

Therese Picado

Seeds of Peace/CDR (Center for Dialogue and Resolution), CALC (Community Alliance of Lane County), Friends of Sanctuary, League of Women Voters Lane County, Eugene PeaceWorks. Skills: peer mediation training (specifically with kids), non-profit public relations (media relations, publications, events planning, etc.), immigrants rights activism, and activism in peace and justice.

  • Email: therese@picadocurtis.net

Arun Toke

Editor and Publisher, Skipping Stones Magazine. Publishing and editing, literary works by youth, energy conservation, nature.

  • Email: editor@skippingstones.org